The body, being a vessel full of energy, when tapped and used properly can create miracles.Chakra means centres of energy with different frequency and characteristics. For example, the Anahata Chakra is located in the heart, energy dominating in this area is characterised by love and compassion. Traditionally there are numerous chakras but now yogis focus on the 7 main chakras located in the spine. 7 chakras work in unity to create balance within the body but if one or more is blocked, the imbalance can cause dis-ease to arise.
Energy blockages often manifest as emotional or physical pain and discomfort in our bodies. Understanding the connection between our physical body and our energy body (chakras) was one of those Ah-Ha moments for me. It allowed me to really tune into my body and begin exploring ways of healing on an energetic level.
Some blockages are very clear, notice how you are describing your feeling and pain. Choking on our words, butterflies in our stomach or pain in our heart are all ways to describe energetic blockages that have manifested themselves physically and emotionally.
Sometime it will require digging a little deeper to get to the source of the the energy blockage. Mediation the best place to start, it allows you to quiet the mind and allow you too really ‘feel’ where in your body discomfort is arising.
The combination of 7 chakras also corresponds to our personality, naturally each of us may have one or more energy centre that dominates. Understanding this can bring us great insight
Root Chakra (Maladhara)— Represents our foundation and feeling of being grounded.
Element: Earth
Location: Base of spine in tailbone area
Colour: Red
Physical imbalances in the root chakra can include problems in the feet, legs, rectum and immunesystem.
Emotional imbalances arise as survival issues such as financial independence, money and food.
A balanced root chakra will provide a feeling of being supported, connected, safe and grounded.
Mantra: I am grounded to the earth
Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana) — Our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences
Element: Water
Color: Orange
Location: Lower abdomen, about two inches below the navel and two inches in
Physical imbalances include sexual and reproductive problems, kidney and urinary issues and hip, pelvic and lower back pain.
Emotional imbalances manifest in our commitment to relationships, suppressed emotions, fear of betrayal and ability to express ourselves creativity.
A balanced Sacral chakra creates a foundation for us to relax into the flow of life and express ourselves sexually and creatively without fear
Mantra: We are one
Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura) – Our relationship with ourselves
Element: Fire
Colour: Yellow
Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area
Emotions: Self-worth, self-confidence and self-esteem
Physical imbalances include digestives problems, fatigue, liver dysfunctions, high blood pressure and gallbladder problems.
Emotional imbalances include negative beliefs around self worth, low self esteem and self confidence. Loss of personal power and fear of rejection can lead us to become controlling and manipulative.
A balanced Solar Plexus Chakra allows us to harness our personal power, we have compassion for ourselves and feel in control and confident.
Mantra: I am perfect as I am
Heart Chakra (Anahata)- Our ability to be love
Element: Air
Color: Green
Locaion: Heart
Emotions: Love, joy and inner peace
Physical imbalances can include asthma, heart disease, lymphatic system blockages, upper back and shoulder problems, arm and wrist pain.
Emotional imbalances include matters of the heart, neediness, jealousy, anger and fear of abandonment.
A balanced heart Chakra brings feelings of love, joy and inner peace. We are able to be compassionate, trusting and offer forgiveness.
Mantra: I am love
Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)— Our ability to communicate
Element: Sound
Color: Blue
Location: Throat
Emotions: Communication, self-expression of feelings and the truth.
Physical imbalances include thyroid issues, sore throat, facial problems and ear infections.
Emotional imbalances include fear of not being heard, not having a choice, issue with self expression and communication. Loss of willpower and feelings of being out of control.
A balanced Throat Chakra allows us to express our thoughts and feelings freely and are honest and truthful.
Mantra: I will speak my truth
Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)— Our ability to see clearly
Element: Light
Color: Indigo
Location: Forehead between the eyes
Emotions: Intuition, imagination, wisdom and the ability to think and make decisions.
Physical imbalances include impaired vision, headaches loss of hearing and hormone function.
Emotional imbalances include moodiness, inability to see beyond the self or accept guidance from others. A tendency to day dream as a escape from reality.
A balanced Third Eye Chakra allows us to see things clearly, receive divine guidance and use our intuition to guide us on our path.
Mantra: I see
Crown Chakra (Sahasrara) — The highest chakra represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually
Element: Thought
Color: Violet
Locaion: Crown of head
Emotions: Inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality and pure bliss.
Physical imbalances include over sensitivity, depression and affect our ability to learn.
Emotional imbalances include inability to accept our own knowledge and power, extreme overthinking and states of constant confusion.
A balanced Crown Chakra allows us to live in the present moment and cultivate an unshakable connection to our inner guidance.
Mantra: I am
Chakra Mediation
Find a comfortable seated position and gently close your eyes. Beginning at your Root Chakra visualise a red wheel of spinning vibrant colour at the base of your spine, as you repeat the mantra: I am grounded to the earth. Focus on the spinning wheel of red noticing anything that comes up for you here, before moving on to the next chakra, an orange spinning wheel of colour and the mantra: we are one.
Continue this until you have worked all the way up the spine though your 7 energy centres. Taking notice how each chakra felt for you, if we have an energy block our wheel of colour can be hard to spin or you can notice resistance in that area.
Enjoy filling your body with rainbows!
Sanae x
Facebook Comments